Gender Policy Committee

Established in 2012, the EASE Gender Policy Committee works to advance gender- and sex-sensitive reporting and communication in science. The goal is not only better science, whether in the life, natural or social sciences, but also enhanced evidence-based practices, interventions and opportunities, for both women and men.
 
Towards common standards

Most scientific publications still fail to report on potential sex and gender differences and similarities in studies that include both sexes. Journal editors have an important role as gatekeepers of science and can encourage disaggregation of data by sex as a matter of routine and inclusion of gender analysis, when appropriate. A key task of the Committee is to review and propose applicable standards and practice.

In addition, the EASE Gender Policy Committee has begun to address gender imbalances within the scientific publishing community as it is evident that gender inequality still exists, for example, in editorial boards and in the pool of peer reviewers.

Mission

  • Advocate better reporting of gender and sex differences and/or similarities in scientific research.
  • Promote gender mainstreaming (and better science) through inclusion of sex and gender considerations in policies and standards for scientific publishing.
  • Encourage gender balance among reviewers, on editorial boards, and in editorial offices.

 
Contact us
If you are interested in the work of the EASE Gender Policy Committee or in joining it, please contact us through secretary@ease.org.uk

Chair                                                                       
Shirin Heidari
Executive Editor
Journal of the International AIDS Society                           
Switzerland 
shirin.heidari@iasociety.org      

Co-Chair
Thomas Babor
Editor-in-Chief
Addiction
USA
babor@nso.uch.c.edu

Administrative Support
Carina Sorensen
Research Promotion Jr. Coordinator
International AIDS Society 
Carina.sorensen@iasociety.org

Members

Rachel Carol
Medical Editor
Emendo Bioscience
UK
rachel@emendo.co.uk

Paola De Castro
Editorial Member
Annali dell’Istituto Superiore di Sanità
Italy
paola.decastro@iss.it   

Paul Cummins
Managing Editor
EuroIntervention
The Netherlands
p.cummins@eurointervention.org        

Mirjam Curno
Managing Editor
Journal of the International AIDS Society
Switzerland
mirjam.curno@iasociety.org     

Srecko Gajovic
Editor-in-Chief
Croatian Medical Journal
Croatia
srecko.gajovic@cmj.hr

Joy Johnson
Scientific Director
Institute of Gender and Health
University of British Columbia
Canada
joy.johnson@ubc.ca

Ana Marusic
Editor-in-Chief
Journal of Global Health
Croatia
ana.marusic@mefst.hr

Ravi Murugesan
Science Editor and AuthorAID Consultant
India
ravi@uwalumni.com    

Paul Osborn
CEO of Mediateurs/Doing Change
Editor of Upscale –the Safe Water Review
The Netherlands
paul@osborn.nl

Petter Oscarson
Technical Editor of Oikos
Managing Editor of Hereditas
Sweden
oikostech@oikosoffice.lu.se

hereditas@oikosoffice.lu.se

Ines Steffens
Editor-in-Chief
Eurosurveillance
Sweden
ines.steffens@ecdc.europa.eu              

Kerstin Stenius
Editor
Addiction
Finland
kerstin.stenius@thl.fi  

Chris Sterken
Editor-in-Chief
The Journal of Astronomical Data
Belgium
csterken@vub.ac.be

Sera Tort
Medical Editor
Cochrane
Spain
tort.sera@gmail.com  

This text was published in January 2013.