Gender Policy Committee

Established in 2012, the EASE Gender Policy Committee (GPC) works to advance gender- and sex-sensitive reporting and communication in science. The goal is not only better science, whether in the life, natural or social sciences, but also enhanced evidence-based practices, interventions and opportunities, for both women and men.

Towards common standards

Most scientific publications still fail to report on potential sex and gender differences and similarities in studies that include both sexes. Journal editors have an important role as gatekeepers of science and can encourage disaggregation of data by sex as a matter of routine and inclusion of gender analysis, when appropriate. A key task of the Committee is to review and propose applicable standards and practice.

In addition, the GPC has begun to address gender imbalances within the scientific publishing community as it is evident that gender inequality still exists, for example, in editorial boards and in the pool of peer reviewers.

Mission

  • Advocate better reporting of gender and sex differences and/or similarities in scientific research.
  • Promote gender mainstreaming (and better science) through inclusion of sex and gender considerations in policies and standards for scientific publishing.
  • Encourage gender balance among reviewers, on editorial boards, and in editorial offices.

Activites

In May 2016 the article "Sex and Gender Equity in Research: rationale for the SAGER guidelines and recommended use" was published in the journal BMC Research and Integrity. This article reflects the efforts made by GPC towards the definition of the Sex and Gender Equity in Research (SAGER) guidelines. The guidelines are a comprehensive procedure for reporting of sex and gender information in study design, data analyses, results and interpretation of findings. They are designed primarily to guide authors in preparing their manuscripts, but they are also useful for editors who seek to integrate an assessment of sex and gender into all manuscripts as an integral part of the editorial process.
 
Sex and Gender Questions was published by the Gender Policy Committee to encourage authors of scientific articles to check whether sex and gender are properly reported in their manuscript.

The Group presented the results of their work so far at the 6th World Conference on Women's Mental Health in March 2015. This document, describing the development of Guidelines on Sex and Gender Equity in Research is available for download.

EASE was represented at the HEIRII Conference in March 2015. Paolo De Castro's presentation of the SAGER guidelines received enthusiastic comments from participants.

Contact us

If you are interested in the work of the EASE Gender Policy Committee or in joining it, please contact us through secretary@ease.org.uk

Chair

Shirin Heidari
Director and Editor Reproductive Health Matters
sheidari@rhmjournal.org.uk
www.rhmjournal.org.uk 

Co-Chair

Thomas Babor
Editor-in-Chief, Addiction, USA
babor@nso.uch.c.edu

Members

Rachel Carol
Medical Editor, Emendo Bioscience, UK
rachel@emendo.co.uk

Paola De Castro
Editorial Member, Annali dell’Istituto Superiore di Sanità, Italy
paola.decastro@iss.it   

Mirjam Curno
Editorial Office Manager, Frontiers
mirjam.curno@frontiersin.org

Ana Marusic
Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Global Health, Croatia
ana.marusic@mefst.hr

Ravi Murugesan
Science Editor and AuthorAID Consultant, India
ravi@uwalumni.com    

Paul Osborn
CEO of Mediateurs/Doing Change, Editor of Upscale –the Safe Water Review, The Netherlands
paul@osborn.nl

Petter Oscarson
Technical Editor of Oikos, Managing Editor of Hereditas, Sweden
oikostech@oikosoffice.lu.se
hereditas@oikosoffice.lu.se

Ines Steffens
Editor-in-Chief, Eurosurveillance, Sweden
ines.steffens@ecdc.europa.eu

Sera Tort
Medical Editor, Cochrane, Spain
tort.sera@gmail.com

Cara Tannenbaum, MD, MSc
Scientific Director | Directrice Scientifique
Institute of Gender and Health | Institut de la santé des femmes et des hommes

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) | Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC)
cara.tannenbaum@umontreal.ca